UMD | IPST | CHEM

Thirumalai Group
University of Maryland
Institute for Physical Sciences and Technology, Building 085
College Park, MD 20742
Phone: 301.405.4803
Fax: 301.314.9404

Any complaints or random comments are encouraged to be addressed here. Helpful suggestions are to be directed here.

The old webpage can still be found here

The Army


Jump to: [ Postdoctoral Researchers ] - [ Graduate Students ] - [ Recent Vistors ] - [ Alumni ]

Leader
Devarajan (Dave) Thirumalai

B.S., Chemistry, 1977
Indian Institute of Technology (Kanpur, India)
Ph.D., Chemistry, 1982
University of Minnesota

Email: thirum@umd.edu
Office: 1112 IPST
Telephone: 301.405.4803

Postdoctoral Researchers
Natasha Denesyuk

Diploma, Physics, 2000
Moscow State University (Moscow, Russia)
Ph.D., Chemistry, 2004
Cambridge University (United Kingdom)

Email: denesyuk@umd.edu
Office: IPST 2100E
Telephone: 301.405.4822

Naoto Hori

M.S., Chemistry, 2008
Kobe University (Japan)
Ph.D., Biophysics, 2013
Kyoto University (Japan)

Email: hori@umd.edu
Office:IPST 2124
Telephone: 301.405.4798
Webpage: http://naotohori.github.io/

Mauro Mugnai

M.S., Physics, 2007
The University of Rome "Sapienza" (Italy)
Ph.D., Chemistry, 2014
The University of Texas at Austin

Email: mmugnai@umd.edu
Office:IPST 2124
Telephone: 301.405.4821


Himadri Samanta

M.S., Physics, 2001
Jadavpur University (Kolkata, India)
Ph.D., Physics, 2007
IACS (Kolkata, India)

Email: hss@umd.edu
Office: IPST 2123E
Telephone: 301.405.4797

Pavel Zhuravlev

M.S., Physics, 2005
Moscow State University (Moscow, Russia)
Ph.D., Chemistry, 2010
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Email: zhur@umd.edu
Office: IPST 2116
Telephone: 301.405.7568

Graduate Students
Yonathan Goldtzvik (Cwik)

B.Sc., Life Sciences, 2010
Hebrew University of Jerusalem (Israel)

Email: yocwik@umd.edu
Office:IPST 2100E
Telephone: 301.405.4822


Hongsuk Kang

B.S., Physics, Computer Science, 2001
Seoul National University (South Korea)
Ph.D., Chemical Physics, 2014
University of Maryland College Park

Email: hkangcp@umd.edu
Office: IPST 2124
Telephone: 301.405.4798

Huong Vu (Vũ Thúy Hường)

B.Sc., Physics, 2009
Hanoi National University of Education (Vietnam)
M.Sc., Physics, 2011
Hanoi National University of Education (Vietnam)

Email: huongvu@umd.edu
Office:IPST 2116
Telephone: 301.405.7568


Recent Visitors
Meng Qin

Nanjing University (China)
Associate Professor

Time Here: 2014 - 2015


Email: qinmeng@nju.edu.cn

Mai Suan Li

Polish Academy of Science (Warsaw, Poland)
Associate Professor

Time Here: 2007


Email: masli@ifpan.edu.pl
Webpage: http://info.ifpan.edu.pl/~masli/

Alumni
Shaon Chakrabati

Harvard Medical School
Postdoctoral Scholar

 

Email: shaon@jimmy.harvard.edu
Webpage: https://sites.google.com/site/shaonc

Michael (Mike) Hinczewski

Case Western Reserve (Cleveland, OH)
Assistant Professor



Website: http://biotheory.phys.cwru.edu

Govardhan Reddy

Indian Institute of Science (Bangalore, India)
Assistant Professor



Email: greddy1@umd.edu

Toan M. Ngo (in Vietnamese: Ngô Minh Toàn)

B.S., Theoretical Physics, 2001
University of Natural Sciences (Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam)
Diploma, Condensed Matter Physics 2003
ICTP (Trieste, Italy)
Ph.D., Statistical & Biological Physics, 2006
SISSA (Trieste, Italy)

Email: ngo.m.toan@gmail.com
Office: IPST 2124
Telephone: 301.405.7969
Website: http://wam.umd.edu/~tmngo

Biyun (Spring) Shi

B.S., Physics, 2008
Zhejiang University (PR China)

 

Jie Chen

Columbia University
Postdoctoral Scholar

 

Email: jc3725@columbia.edu

Samuel (Sam) Cho

Wake Forest University
Assistant Professor

 

Email: choss@wfu.edu
Webpage: http://www.wfu.edu/~choss

Zhenxing Liu

Beijing Normal University
Assistant Professor

Riina Tehver

Denison University
Assistant Professor

 

Email: tehver@denison.edu

Valeri Barsegov

University of Massachusetts, Lowell
Assistant Professor

 


Email: Valeri_Barsegov@uml.edu
Webpage: http://faculty.uml.edu/vbarsegov/

Marcos Betancourt

Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
Assistant Professor

 


Email: mrbetanc@iupui.edu

Harmen Bussemaker

Columbia University
Associate Professor

 


Email: hjb2004@columbia.edu
Webpage: http://bussemaker.bio.columbia.edu/lab/

Carlos J. Camacho

University of Pittsburgh
Associate Professor

 


Email: ccamacho@pitt.edu
Webpage: http://smoothdock.ccbb.pitt.edu/

Margaret S. Cheung

University of Houston
Associate Professor

 


Email: mscheung@uh.edu
Webpage: http://www.phys.uh.edu/~mscheung/

Ruxandra Dima

University of Cincinnati
Assistant Professor

 


Email: Ruxandra.Dima@uc.edu
Webpage: http://www.che.uc.edu/dima/

Vlad Dobrosavljevic

Florida State University
Professor

 


Email: vlad@magnet.fsu.edu
Webpage: http://badmetals.magnet.fsu.edu/

Bae-Yeun Ha

Waterloo University (Canada)
Professor

 


Email: byha@scimail.uwaterloo.ca
Webpage: http://www.physics.uwaterloo.ca/people/ha/

Changbong Hyeon

Korea Institute for Advanced Study (South Korea)
Professor

 


Email: hyeoncb@kias.re.kr
Webpage: http://newton.kias.re.kr/~hyeoncb/

Dmitri Klimov

George Mason University
Professor

 


Email: dklimov@gmu.edu
Webpage: http://binf.gmu.edu/dklimov/

Namkyung Lee

Sejong University (South Korea)
Associate Professor

 


Email: lee@sejong.ac.kr
Webpage: http://203.250.148.56/lee/

Greg Morrison

IMT Lucca, Italy
Assistant Professor

 


Email: gmorriso@seas.harvard.edu

Edward (Ed) O'Brien, Jr.

Penn State University
Assistant Professor

 


Email: epo2@psu.edu

George Stan

University of Cincinnati
Assistant Professor

 


Email: George.Stan@uc.edu

Subramanian Vaitheeswaran (Vaithee)

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Postdoctoral Scholar

 


Email: vaiths@rpi.edu

Wenjun Zheng

University at Buffalo, SUNY
Associate Professor

 


Email: wjzheng@buffalo.edu
Webpage: http://www.acsu.buffalo.edu/~wjzheng/

David L. Pincus

University of Maryland, College Park
Graduate Student at Department of Mathematics

Alexander Kudlay

Bloomberg LP
Senior Financial Software Engineer

 


Zhechun (Lance) Zhang

Harvard University
Postdoctoral Scholar

Ashita Stephen

University of Maryland, College Park
Graduate Student at Department of Chemistry

Jong-Chin Lin
Camera Shy Alumni (email pics & info here)
  • Carlos A. Condat
  • Zhuyan Guo
  • Danny Hamburger
  • J. D. Honeycutt
  • Molisana Molisana
  • Sarvin Moghaddam
  • Robert O. Rosenberg
  • Michael R. Shaw